Bookmark and Share

1. Geography
2. Political situation
3. Economy
a. Figures
4. Health
5. Education
a. Universities
6. Demographics
7. Religions
a. Freedom
8. Peoples
9. Languages
10. History
11. Cities and Towns

Open the online Arabic language course

Index / Political situation /
Open map of TurkeyFlag of TurkeyTurkey /
Political situation

Prime Ministers
Ismet Inönü 1923-1924
Ali Fethi Okyar 1924-1925
Ismet Inönü 1925-1937
Celal Bayar 1937-1939
Refik Saydam 1939-1942
Sükrü Saracoglu 1942-1946
Multiparty era
Recep Peker 1946-1947
Hasan Saka 1947-1949
Semsettin Günaltay 1949-1950
Adnan Menderes 1950-1960
Cemal Gürsel 1960-1961
Ismet Inönü 1961-1965
S. Hayri Ürgüplü 1965
Süleyman Demirel 1965-1971
Nikat Erim 1971-1972
Ferit Melen 1972-1973
Naim Talu 1973-1974
Bülent Ecevit 1974
Said Irmak 1974-1975
Süleyman Demirel 1975-1977
Bülent Ecevit 1977-1979
Süleyman Demirel 1979-1980
Bulent Ulusu 1980-1983
Turgut Özal 1983-1989
Yildirim Akbulut 1989-1991
Mesut Yilmaz 1991
Süleyman Demirel 1991-1993
Tansu Ciller 1993-1996
Mesut Yilmaz 1996
Necmettin Erbakan 1996-1997
Mesut Yilmaz 1997-1999
Bülent Ecevit 1999-2002
Abdullah Gül 2002-2003
Recep Tayyip Erdogan 2003-

Turkey has been through a period of power struggle between the military and former the Islamist government which resulted in the military as the victors. Even if there still are armed clashes in the east of the country, Turkey is stable.
The conflicts with the Kurdish population and the Kurdish military group PKK, persists, and stays on as an important factor in Turkish political life. The policies of the Turkish governments in this field, have been strongly criticized by international organizations like Amnesty International.

By Tore Kjeilen