Bookmark and Share

Ancient Egypt
1. Introduction
2. People
3. Life styles
4. Culture
5. Education and Science
6. Society
7. Economy
8. Government
9. Cities and Villages
10. Language
11. Religion
12. Kings / periods
13. History
14. Map

Open the online Arabic language course

1650-1580 BCE

Open map of Ancient EgyptAncient Egypt / Second Intermediate Period /
16th Dynasty

Showing only known rulers. Years BCE
Anather ?
Yakobaam ?

Second Intermediate Period
ZOOM - Open a large version of this image

From a grave of the Medjayu people at Abydos. The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Dynasty of Ancient Egypt 1650-1580 BCE, 70 years, consisting of between 9 and 15 rulers. It belongs to the period which is called the Second Intermediate Period.
The 16th is a parallel dynasty to the 15th, and was based in Thebes. Its kings are often classified as vassals to the Hyksos, but this is disputed; many suggest that the 16th Dynasty kings ruled a kingdom independent of the 15th Dynasty kings. It is possible that the capital of these kings changed to Abydos, El-Kab and Edfu at periods. Also it is more than likely that the were changes in elites during this period, meaning that the 16th Dynasty was not a continuous dynasty, hence two or more dynasties.
The few physical remains from this period are poor and primitively made.

Confused? Try to find a good place to start learning about Ancient Egypt in
Where to begin?Detailed article

By Tore Kjeilen