Bookmark and Share

1. Geography
2. Political situation
3. Economy
a. Figures
4. Health
5. Education
a. Universities
6. Demographics
7. Religions
a. Freedom
8. Peoples
9. Languages
10. History
11. Cities and Towns

Open the online Arabic language course

Index / Political situation /
Open map of OmanFlag of OmanOman /
Political situation

Ahmad 1744-1783
Said 1783-1803
Sultan 1803-1804
Salim 1804-1806
Said 1804-1856
Thuwayni 1856-1866
Salim 1866-1868
Azzan 1868-1871
Turki 1871-1888
Faisal 1888-1913
Taimur 1913-1932
Said 1932-1970
Qaboos 1970-

Oman has no democracy, all power is in the hands of sultan Qaboos ibn Said. The country has only limited freedom of speech.
The hereditary sultan, which actually took power in a palace coup against his father, has absolute power. Oman has no constitution, yet the sultan rules based on the advice from an appointed cabinet, and a council made up of 59 representatives from different regions of Oman.
Members of both bodies are appointed by the sultan. There is no legislature, nor any political parties. The judicial system is to a large extent based upon the Sharia, and there are one chief court and one court of appeals, both localized to Musqat.
Oman has 3 daily newspapers, where Al-Watan is the largest with a circulation of about 33,000.
35% of government expenditures are used on the military forces. The total military forces are made up of about 35,000 troops.

By Tore Kjeilen