Bookmark and Share

1. Orientations
a. Figures
2. Koran
3. Theology
4. Concept of divine
5. Sharia
6. Muhammad
7. Cult and Festivals
8. Mecca
9. Cultic personalities
10. Caliph
11. Structures
12. Popular religion
13. Others
14. Calendar

Open the online Arabic language course

Islam / Cult and Festivals /
Five Pillars

In Islam, what is defined as core actions for the believer.
  1. Shahada, the creed stating that "There is no God but God, and Muhammad is his messenger".
  2. Salat, the prayer which is to be performed five times a day. This prayer is performed after strict rules: bending and uttering phrases from the Koran, as well as facing the direction towards the ka'bain Mecca.
  3. Zakat, alms. This is a prescription which is practiced in very different ways in Islam today.
  4. Sawm, fast during the month of Ramadan.
  5. Hajj, pilgrimage to Mecca. This an obligation for all Muslims in good health and sufficiently good economic situation.

By Tore Kjeilen